gracemissylolasmom's Blog

all things related to life, love and the pursuit of living joyously in the abundance of God's grace!

Daily Post – Day 3

Leave a comment

Writing 101, Day Three: Commit to a Writing Practice

Today, celebrate three songs that are significant to you. For your twist, write for fifteen minutes without stopping — and build a writing habit.

This one is going to be hard because I have so many songs that inspire me and for different reasons and seasons.

I do know however one of my all time favorites is “Your Great Name” by Natalie Grant. Her voice is amazing.  The lyrics are what inspire me the most, but the combination of the lyrics and her voice put me in a meditative state when I hear this song.  I often play it multiple times in a row when I listen to it onCD, mp3 or iTunes.

It is a song that makes me so thankful to know God and that I was saved by His Grace and Righteousness.   I am always contemplative when I listen to “Your Great Name”.

A second, very impactful song for me is an oldie, but goodie – “Imagine” by John Lennon.  There again the lyrics in combination with the singing are what cause me to LOVE this song.  It always speaks to my heart and soul.  Isn’t that true of all music?

The lyrics to “Imagine” that impact me the most are…

“You may say I’m a dreamer
But I’m not the only one
I hope someday you’ll join us
And the world will be as one

Imagine no possessions
I wonder if you can
No need for greed or hunger
A brotherhood of man
Imagine all the people
Sharing all the world…”

These 2 verses say a lot about the possibilities that exist in a world, a world we can only “Imagine” because it doesn’t exist in reality.

Finally, and this is a tough 3rd choice, because there are honestly many that fit the “favorite” category is “When God Ran” by Phillips, Craig & Dean.  It is another Christian worship song that essentially tells the story of the Prodigal Son and how God runs to us when we need Him, when we call on Him and when we have parted ways from Him for a long time.  He “runs to us” in excited adoration and adulation that we have returned home to Him. 

Chorus
“He ran to me,
He took me in His arms,
Held my head to His chest,
Said “My son’s come home again!”
Lifted my face,
Wiped the tears from my eyes,
With forgiveness in His voice He said
“Son, do you know I still love You?”

Just the visual of God running towards me, makes my heart melt, my face smile and my spirit soar!  My wonderful, God-loving brother-in-law gave me this song almost 8 years ago now, on a worship CD he created for me, to honor my 1st born-again water baptism.  It was a song that honestly the first time I heard it made me fall to my knees, bow my head in worship with tears streaming down my face.

These are the 3 songs I chose for this writing assignment.

Link to Daily Posts for submission

Author: gracemissylolasmom

I am 44 years old. I love the Lord, God my Savior above all else. I am a mom to 3 dogs who are the delight of my life. I love my nephews and family fiercely. I am a project manager. I volunteer for an organization called Ncompass. I am going to be blogging about all the subjects...and more!

Leave a Reply

