gracemissylolasmom's Blog

all things related to life, love and the pursuit of living joyously in the abundance of God's grace!

Ncompass

Leave a comment

Tonight was my first evening outing, post surgery, to attend the Maranatha House appreciation dinner for the folks who support Ncompass ministry in partnering with their amazing, wonderful, blessed mission.

Link to their website

image

Haiti Maranatha House brochure pg 1

I have been involved with them for about 8 years. Initially my small home group made peanut butter sandwiches and packed 150-200 lunches 1 Sunday a month for over 5 years. Ncompass volunteers then distributed the lunches in and around the Portland Mission area of Burnside and Naito Parkway. The last 2 years, I have assisted in planning their homeless festivals under the Burnside Bridge in downtown Portland.

Ncompass was founded by a small handful of OSU students who had a heart for the plight of the homeless. Joey Jenkins, Ncompass’ President, spent a summer one year during his early 20’s being “homeless” in the Bay area of CA. He learned firsthand what homeless men and women struggle with every day to find the most basic of life’s necessities – food, clothing, and shelter.

So these college students would come up to Portland from Corvallis, initially one Sunday a month to make & distribute the lunches to the homeless. Their tireless devotion to the homeless resonated with me…back in my college days, I had joined OSPIRG in advocating for the homeless. In fact, there’s archived news footage of our group who staged a sleep-out in the PSU park blocks in the middle of November, on a foggy, freezing cold night. We got interviewed by KGW and KPTV about what we were trying to accomplish by sleeping out one night. A contingent of homeless folks who often slept in the park blocks joined us and we had quite the gathering.

I guess, in one way or another, I have been partial to social advocacy for the homeless and for abandoned children since my college days. So when Ncompass first took an interest in helping out the Maranatha House in Haiti, I just knew I would be going on a mission trip there someday.

I have always been impressed and inspired by the compassion and caring of these young college students, who are now parents with young children, displayed at a time when other 20-year olds are partying and boozing their way thru college…but not Ncompass students! Joey and Stephanie Jenkins, founding executives of Ncompass, always had a vision of an international ministry. And since I have worked with them for so long, I can vouch for the integrity and compassionate hearts they have for doing the work of Jesus.

image

Haiti Marantha House Brochure pg 2

image

Depiction of new building - hope to break ground in 2015

Please consider looking at their website for info on ways you can contribute to this amazing and important work. 5 of the 40 children still need monthly scholarships for school tuition and clothing. They are raising funds to build the boys dormitory in 2015. And as always need ongoing monthly support and prayer warriors!

Sign up to get their news sent directly to your email. And if you’re interested in going on a mission trip, please sign up online to become a volunteer.

I started a “Go Fund Me campaign to raise funds for my trip. Link to my site is here. I am trying to raise $2,500 total. I need $1,000 by September as a deposit and I currently have raised $500. Please support in any way, any amount you can. As always, prayers are much appreciated and always, always welcome!

J. E. Morse
Posted from WordPress for Android

Author: gracemissylolasmom

I am 44 years old. I love the Lord, God my Savior above all else. I am a mom to 3 dogs who are the delight of my life. I love my nephews and family fiercely. I am a project manager. I volunteer for an organization called Ncompass. I am going to be blogging about all the subjects...and more!

Leave a Reply

