gracemissylolasmom's Blog

all things related to life, love and the pursuit of living joyously in the abundance of God's grace!

Blogging response…

Leave a comment

I was challenged to answer a lot of questions about blogging and my motivation for doing so in the post linked here

I’d like to address each question point-by-point.

If you’re a blogger, what motivates you in your blogging? I had initially wanted to start a blog to keep a journal of my upcoming mission trip to Haiti in November. But as I started it 2 weeks ago now, it has blossomed into a daily habit that I thoroughly enjoy. I really look forward to each new daily posts.

Are you trying to build a readership? Do you care about that? And if so, how much does it influence your topic choices? Initially, no. But as I gather followers, and have seen and responded to their feedback, I am liking the idea more and more of building a readership. I have a message, of life, love and the pursuit of living abundantly in God’s grace and mercy, and I want to share that message as far and as wide as it will take me. So I need to build a readership base to “get the word out”. Having a readership base doesn’t influence what I am going to write about. I have the topics already in my heart, and my head, so it’s just a matter of when the good Lord prompts me to “spill” a particular topic out.

Are you actively trying to find topics that resonate with people and tweaking your blog content accordingly? And if yes to that, what’s your end goal? Yes and no. I am finding by following, and reading others’ posts, that it gives me topics. But as I stated in answer to the previous question, I have literally 10 years worth of reflections and topics floating around in my skull that will eventually make their way on to a daily post. So I am not influenced by my readership’s desires for topics. I am mainly influenced by the topics I have bouncing around in my noggin!

What do you ultimately want out of this whole blogging endeavor? Great question, I think I answered this in my previous post, see “Why I Blog” here.

Or is it that you’re more like me in your approach to blogging? Meaning, you find yourself blogging as a means of exploring your own interests – and through that yourself. I absolutely find my blogs pursue my own interests. I did however join a Writing 101, Daily blog challenge being new to blogging, I thought I might run out of topics, and this would be a way to ensure that I didn’t. I have done some of their daily prompts, but I find more often than not, I have enough topics of my own, I don’t need their prompting.

Why do you go to the effort of keeping a public blog?In all honesty, I see my blog as a part of my ministry. I am a believer, and as such, I am compelled to share the Good News, so my blog is actually an instrument for me to share that News that God is GOOD. He always provides a way, always, for his disciples to do His work. This blog is a means to an end of getting out the Word.

Thank you Maggie’s Blog for asking these important questions!!! God Bless You!

J. E. Morse
Posted from WordPress for Android

Author: gracemissylolasmom

I am 44 years old. I love the Lord, God my Savior above all else. I am a mom to 3 dogs who are the delight of my life. I love my nephews and family fiercely. I am a project manager. I volunteer for an organization called Ncompass. I am going to be blogging about all the subjects...and more!

Leave a Reply

