gracemissylolasmom's Blog

all things related to life, love and the pursuit of living joyously in the abundance of God's grace!

A matter of faith…

Leave a comment

When it comes to faith, what is it exactly? To me, it is believing when you cannot see.

image

About 10 years ago now, I did not understand what faith meant…and 10 years later, I barely have scratched the depths of what faith means.

It is believing when you cannot see…
It is loving despite those who despise…
It is forgiving when you are unforgiven…
It is taking a step forward when the path is unclear…
It is trusting when trust is undeserved…

And despite all these things, faith is…it is still undefineable. It is intangible and unattainable by understanding alone. It is a feeling, a believing, an emotion that conjures up strength when you are at your weakest.

Jesus said, and Paul taught, that we are …”strongest when we are weakest”. To truly understand the meaning of that statement, one must experience it. It can’t be grasped by head knowledge alone. An experience of strength, when we are at our weakest is a very personal thing.

Jesus also said, …”if our faith was like a mustard seed, we can move mountains.Matthew 17:20 NIV: He replied, “Because you have so little faith. Truly I tell you, if you have faith as small as a mustard seed, you can say to this mountain, ‘Move from here to there,’ and it will move. Nothing will be impossible for you.”

Luke 17:5-6 NIV
The apostles said to the Lord, “Increase our faith!” He replied, “If you have faith as small as a mustard seed, you can say to this mulberry tree, ‘Be uprooted and planted in the sea,’ and it will obey you.

Think back to Peter, who wanted so badly to have, to demonstrate his faith, that he walked on water for a few steps, and then doubt crept back in. Doubt is the enemy of faith.

Are we all born doubtful or do our circumstances in life make us so? Is it because our forefather and mother ate of the tree of knowledge…that we judge instead of leap in the face of adversity? Why do we not trust that God will give us what we need when we need it?

There’s that trust word again. Trust is a word that heaps trouble on my soul. I am a very untrusting person generally. Perhaps it is because of what I have endured in this life that makes me so untrusting. But whatever the case, if I only had faith, I may yet overcome this untrusting nature in me…especially where God is concerned.

Afterall, Jesus said “…trust no man, for their hearts are filled with…” evil.

Jeremiah 17:5 NIV
This is what the Lord says: “Cursed is the one who trusts in man, who draws strength from mere flesh and whose heart turns away from the Lord .

Isaiah 2:22 NIV
Stop trusting in mere humans, who have but a breath in their nostrils. Why hold them in esteem?

I started this post of faith, and I landed on trust. I believe the two are intertwined. You cannot have one without the other. If you cannot trust, how can you have faith as big as a mustard seed???

image

Mustard seeds

J. E. Morse
Posted from WordPress for Android

Author: gracemissylolasmom

I am 44 years old. I love the Lord, God my Savior above all else. I am a mom to 3 dogs who are the delight of my life. I love my nephews and family fiercely. I am a project manager. I volunteer for an organization called Ncompass. I am going to be blogging about all the subjects...and more!

Leave a Reply

