gracemissylolasmom's Blog

all things related to life, love and the pursuit of living joyously in the abundance of God's grace!

Who are we in God’s eyes?

Leave a comment

I was so convicted by the message at church this morning…Essentially the message was “what if we saw the one we are in conflict with in God’s eyes?”

Would we still want to wring their neck? Would the words of discord catch in our throat or roll off our tongue?

image

I for one was brought to tears…the message I heard God speak to me was “I must forgive because they do not know me (God)”…and the only way they can come to know me, is through the actions I show them. Will it be kindness?  Forgiveness?  Discord? Judgement?

If the only person who can speak truth to them is me, then what are my words, and actions, saying to them? Is it love? Or is it hate?  What would I want them to speak to me?

And if I forgive them, will that be repayed in the years to come…to me or to others? Will I see the result of this or will it be a “pay it forward” type of thing? Does it even matter if I am repayed the forgiveness? Jesus said that to forgive means we must do it 7 times 77 times. He only said this because he knew we humans would struggle to let go and let God.

Our hearts are born with a “God-sized” hole in them. All our lives we may seek the comfort and love of other humans, only to be repayed with eventual failure, because we are imperfect beings. We do not have the grace and mercy of God, we have the fairness and justice of the fruit of the Tree of Knowledge of Good and Evil. Without God’s balance of grace and mercy, we will always fail one another.

Only God can fill this hole in our hearts. Once we have accepted Christ in to our lives, He slowly fills it…only He replaces the hurts, disappointment and hate that fills the hole, by those who hurt us, until we come to know the Lord. Once we know God though, it is a journey we are to walk out for the rest of our lives. We will have days where the journey is filled with beauty and peace, and we will have other days filled with pain and suffering. But each day we allow God to fill our hearts with His grace, His mercy, then we are filled to overflowing with peace and joy.

That peace and joy of God makes it easier to forgive those who hurt us. To let go, let God.

image

God's power if greater than us...

J. E. Morse
Posted from WordPress for Android

Author: gracemissylolasmom

I am 44 years old. I love the Lord, God my Savior above all else. I am a mom to 3 dogs who are the delight of my life. I love my nephews and family fiercely. I am a project manager. I volunteer for an organization called Ncompass. I am going to be blogging about all the subjects...and more!

Leave a Reply

